Twelve Days of Christmas Patterns: Day 1

PartridgesBIG

Hi All!

For Day 1, I was inspired by a stocking my great-grandmother crocheted.

Great-Grandma's stocking on fireplaceGreat-Grandma's stocking

We have been using stockings like this one in my family for years, and thanks to great-grandmas crochet skills, the stockings have held up over time. Unfortunately, they are beginning to show their age. As you can see in the picture the white has been turning more and more yellow and the yarn is becoming matted. So in honor of my great-grandmother I adopted her pattern, tweaked it, and am sharing it with all of you.

DSCN0609
Here is my version of the stocking.

I used one ball of worsted Simply Caron yarns in Autumn Red (A), Dark Sage (B), and Bright White (C) and a G hook.

Like my great-grandmothers, my stocking is made of granny squares. My pattern uses 19 squares.

Granny Square:

Using Autumn Red (A), Ch 3. Sl st in first chain to form a ring.

Rnd 1: Ch 3. Dc twice in ring. *Ch 3. Dc 3 times in ring. Repeat from * 2 more times. Ch 3. Sl st in top of ch 3. Sl st in next 2 stitches.

Rnd 2: Change to Dark Sage (B). Ch 3. Dc twice in ch 3 space. Ch 3. DC 3 times in same corner. * Ch 1. Dc 3 times in next corner. Ch 3. Dc 3 times in same corner. Repeat from * two times. Sl st in top of ch 3. Sl st in next 3 stitches.

Rnd 3: Change to Bright White (C). Ch 3. Dc twice in ch 3 space. Ch 3. Dc 3 times in same corner. * Ch 1. Dc 3 times in ch 1 space. Ch 1. Dc 3 times in corner space. Ch 3. Dc 3 times in the same corner space. Repeat from * to more times. Fasten off

stocking-chartWhen you have made all of your granny squares, piece them together like the diagram to the left, using your preferred method of connecting the squares (I used slip stitches to sew them together but I think sewing them would have been easier).  The triangles shown in the chart below are simply granny squares folded in half.

Once the stocking is sewn together, you can create the rounds of Dcs around the opening of the stocking. Simply insert your hook into any space on the top granny squares, and using Dark Sage (B), Ch 3, Skip 1 st. Dc in next st. Continue in each st until the round is complete. Sl st in top of ch 3. Repeat the round 2 more times. Fasten off.

To make the loop, use Dark Sage (B) and chain 6. Dc in 3 chain from hook. Dc in next st. Turn.

Ch 3. skip 1 st. Dc in next stitch. Dc in top of ch 3 space. * continue until loop is desired size.

Then sew the loop onto the inside of the stocking.

The finished product should look like this:

DSCN0614

I hope you like the pattern! I know its pretty simple but I thought it would be nice to honor my great-grandmother.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

